Movies I want to see: Ruby Sparks

As a sucker for indie romances, I couldn’t help but get excited when I saw the trailer for Ruby Sparks.

Directed by Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris (both who directed Little Miss Sunshine), the film stars Paul Dano as Calvin, a struggling novelist who manifests a female character he thinks will love him. And out of the blue, she, a.ka. Ruby Sparks (played by Zoe Kazan, who also wrote the script) becomes real.

While this may sound really similar to Stranger Than Fiction, I think this movie looks awfully sweet, cute, endearing, witty and all those vomitrocious characteristics that come with romances. Of course, I haven’t seen Stranger Than Fiction yet (maybe I should right after I write this…), but aren’t all films somewhat inspired by other movies and stories? I mean just look at Avatar as an example. That was very similar to Pocahontas.

And then again, I can also see a lot of people thinking that this movie enforces misogyny as a man manifests his “ideal woman”.  I mean Chris Messina’s character did say, “For men everywhere, tell me you’re not going to let that go to waste.”

But despite any criticism, I think this movie looks cute, sweet, funny and romantic. And while this may seem like some sort of “artsy, hipster” film, I will definitely be giving this one a chance. Who knows, maybe there will be a surprise at the end of this film. Maybe it was all just a dream and Ruby Sparks teaches him what he wants in life?

Food for thought.

Trailer for Ruby Sparks:

Author: Samantha Lui

I'm a journalist from Toronto, Ontario.

Leave a comment